告别我们的星空之夜

— 2020 收藏 —

采访

从2011年开始,我成了"太空垃圾 的思考 "和 "全球暖化"的话题的 "代言人"

从那时起,我就下定决心将这些主题结合到我的作品中,作为一种行动的号召,并使公众注意到我们的宇宙和我们的星球因政治环境、我们的天空因我们用人造物体污染空间而日益受到威胁、气候变化和由此产生的极端天气、野生动物的毁灭以及我们的星夜的消失而导致的退化。

我希望我的艺术项目是为了提高人们对起因的认识。这是一个紧急情况。

"想象力经常会带我们到一个从未出现过的世界。但如果没有想象力,我们无处可去。"

Carl Sagan

CW_by_LGM_03.jpg
DSC_1351_2.jpg

我们面临两大问题。

光害 是指人为的照明使夜空变亮。

我们人为地把它弄得越亮,就越看不清它的实际奥妙。

如果我们失去了接触宇宙的机会,我们就失去了简单地仰望和想象我们是谁,我们在哪里,我们来自哪里的能力。宇宙中这颗不可思议的蓝色星球是什么?我们的想象力被越来越有限的视角所限制,我们就越可能失去创造性地应对人类未来将面临的挑战。

这些年来,由于人造灯光的蔓延遮住了上面的星星,看到大自然所希望的那样灿烂的晴朗夜晚变得越来越难。

如果你看到的星星少于10颗,说明光害严重,假設是发现30颗以上的星星,就说明他们的上方是一片黑暗的天空。

"我想让人们出去数星星,帮助拯救现在的星星,让后代子孙享受。"

接管或征服我们的空间

60年前,太空还是很有活力的。然后,"太空竞赛"开始了。俄罗斯在1957年首先发射了斯普特尼克号,这在美国引发了一场巨大的怀疑和嫉妒危机,

这也刺激了我们在1969年, 阿波罗11号将第一个人类送上了月球。

宇航员带回地球的月球岩石当之无愧地受到了许多的关注,但其他实验也证明了他们的价值,从其他探索阿波罗12号、14号、15号、16号和17号都进行了阿波罗月球表面实验。

为什么太空垃圾会是问题?

轨道碎片的定义是:围绕我们星球运行的、不再具有任何有用功能的人造物体。它可以包括不能使用的航天器、废弃的运载火箭级和空间飞行任务产生的其他垃圾。

从废弃的卫星、分崩离析的航天器和其他飞行任务中,有1.7亿块小于1厘米(0.4英寸)的碎片、约67万块1-10厘米的碎片和约2.9万块较大的碎片在轨道上。碎片,也就是"太空垃圾",在绕地球运行时被跟踪,它对人类继续探索太空的努力构成了严重威胁。可能造成的后果是难以想象的。仅仅是几次不受控制的太空坠毁,就可以产生足够多的碎片,引发一连串失控的碎片,使近地空间无法使用,而这些碎片会威胁到其他航天器。 印第安纳州西拉法叶市普渡大学的天体动力学研究员卡罗琳-弗鲁赫说:"如果我们这样下去,我们将达到一條不歸路"。

她列例了SpaceX、亚马逊和OneWeb等公司计划发射的大型星座或互联网卫星舰队。这些公司计划在十年后总共发射超过10万颗卫星。自2019年5月以来,SpaceX已经将其Starlink互联网卫星中的近900颗新卫星火箭送入地球轨道,其已获准将约1.2万颗飞船悬空......

人类太空飞行的一个固定装置就是要避免可能与空间站相撞的碎片。我们已经看到了轨道碰撞。

这种情况被称为"凯斯勒综合症",如果情况变得糟糕,可能会使地球轨道上的操作变得困难。因此,许多探索倡导者说,航天界应该现在就开始采取缓解措施。

收集太空垃圾

可能是一个有利可图的项目。有些材料可以运到月球,并在那里重新用于采矿或建设,从而节省从地球发射新材料的费用。

其他太空垃圾可以返回地球并出售。一些公司可能想把失败的卫星送回去,研究出了什么问题。还有一些太空垃圾可以作为太空纪念品拍卖给竞拍者。

很可能SpaceX不会去清理轨道来解决太空垃圾的问题,他们是在为科学污染夜空。这是某人的空想。

"清理"地球轨道环境的方法,首先是减少垃圾。其次,建造十几艘像X-37自主太空飞机那样的飞船,像机器人一样在轨道上一呆就是几年,清理旧的星联卫星。

IMG_0834 copy.jpg

如何减少和清理太空垃圾?

至于清理垃圾?补救技术还没有在太空中进行过测试。日本有磁铁的演示,英国有可部署的网,这些都是在地球上进行的。

12月,欧洲航天局(欧空局)委托进行了首次轨道碎片清理任务,称为 "ClearSpace-1"。

他们的计划是在2025年发射一个多臂机器人,挖出一大块欧洲旧火箭,这项任务估计要花费1.3亿美元。碎片和清理机器人将在重返地球大气层后自毁。

同时,每个国家都在管理太空垃圾对硬件和人类生命构成的风险。

随着世界上越来越多的国家建立起自己的空间能力,美国的立法者们热衷于解决日益严重的潜在有害轨道碎片问题。但是,虽然有政策试图解决这个问题,但并没有取得重大进展。坎宁安说:"随着越来越多的国家和公司在太空能力领域的发展,他们负责任地行事, 並且,保护太空的安全和可持续性符合所有人的利益"。"一项得到广泛认同的《外层太空活动国际行为准则》可以鼓励负责任的太空行为,有助于减少碎片风险,并提高空间作业的透明度"。

​这种协议尚不存在。第一次试探性的尝试是在国务卿希拉里-克林顿的领导下进行的,我真诚地希望我们的新总统乔-拜登将宣布,美国将与其他国家合作制定一项国际行为准则,只要它不与我国的国家安全优先事项相冲突。

引用

https://www.businessinsider.com/soviet-satellite-chinese-rocket-might-crash-in-space-2020-10?utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sf-bi-ti&utm_source=facebook.com

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/space/reference/space-junk/

https://www.newsweek.com/russian-satellite-chinese-rocket-space-collision-1538954?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1602674383n,

https://www.futura-sciences.com/sciences/actualites/debris-spatiaux-debris-spatiaux-nouvelle-technique-laser-permet-observer-plein-jour-82403/?utm_content=bufferd9747&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=futura#xtor=AL-27-1[ACTU]-82403[Debris-spatiaux-:-une-nouvelle-technique-laser-permet-de-les-observer-en-plein-jour]

https://astronomy.com/news/2019/06/what-did-the-apollo-astronauts-leave-behind?utm_source=asyfb&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=asyfb

 

https://www.space.com/spacex-starship-space-junk-cleanup

https://www.livemint.com/Technology/LZI48dIQctPzb0mMYfYUBI/To-the-moon-and-back-with-VR.html

https://www.space.com/16289-space-junk-international-response.html

https://dailyutahchronicle.com/2018/03/19/consortium-for-dark-skies-studies-reaches-new-heights/

https://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/news/17588007.campaigners-call-light-pollution-action-star-count/

FAREWELL TO OUR STARY NIGHT

— COLLECTION 2020 —

INTERVIEW

Since 2011, I became an "advocate" of my favorite recurring topics: "Reflections on space junk" and "Global Warming".

I have since become very determined to combine these topics in my work as a call to action and to bring to the attention of the public a knowledge of the degradation of our Cosmos and of our planet resulting from the confluence of the political environment, our skies increasingly endangered from our pollution of space with man-made objects, climate change and resultant extreme weather, the decimation of wildlife, and the loss of our starry nights.

The hope that my art projects is to raise awareness for a cause. This is a true emergency.

"Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere."

Carl Sagan

CW_by_LGM_03.jpg
DSC_1351_2.jpg

We are facing two major problems:

Light pollution is the brightening of the night sky by man-made illumination.

The brighter we make it artificially, the less we can see its actual wonders.

If we lose our access to the universe, we lose our ability to simply look up and imagine who we are, where we are and where we come from. What is this incredible blue planet in the cosmos? The more our imagination is limited by an increasingly limited perspective, the more we may lose our ability to creatively respond to challenges that humanity will face in the future.

Seeing clear nights as brilliant as nature intended has become harder throughout the years, due to the spread of man-made lights blocking out the stars above.

If you see fewer than 10 stars, this indicates severe light pollution, while anyone who spots over 30 means they have a dark sky above them.

"I want to get people out counting the stars and helping to save them now and for future generations to enjoy."

Takeover or conquest of our Space

60 years ago, space was spick-and-span. Then the "space race" began. Russia got out ahead with the launch of Sputnik in 1957 which provoked a great crisis of disbelief and envy in America, and also stimulated us to send the first man to the moon when Apollo 11 reached it in 1969.

The Moon rocks the astronauts brought back to Earth deservedly received the most attention, but the other experiments proved their worth as well from others exploration of Apollos 12, 14, 15, 16, and 17 all carried an Apollo Lunar Surface Experiments.

Subsequently, why is space junk such a problem?

Orbital debris is defined as any man-made object orbiting our planet that no longer serves a useful function. It can include non-functional spacecraft, abandoned launch vehicle stages and other junk produced by space missions.

From abandoned satellites, spacecraft that broke apart, and other missions 170 million pieces debris smaller than 1 cm (0.4 in), about 670,000 debris 1–10 cm, and approximately 29,000 larger pieces of debris are in orbit. Debris, or "space junk", are tracked as they orbit the Earth and it poses a serious threat to humanity’s continuing efforts to explore space. The possible consequences are unthinkable. Just a few uncontrolled space crashes could generate enough debris to set off a runaway cascade of fragments, rendering near-Earth space unusable and which can threaten other spacecraft. "If we go on like this, we will reach a point of no return", says Caroline Frueh, an astrodynamics researcher at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

She cites the large constellations, or fleets of internet satellites that companies like SpaceX, Amazon, and OneWeb are planning to launch. In total, the companies plan to launch more than 100,000 satellites by the end of the decade. SpaceX has already rocketed nearly 900 new satellites into Earth's orbit since May 2019 of its Starlink internet satellites to low Earth orbit, and it has permission to loft about 12,000 of the craft…

A fixture of human spaceflight is going to be avoiding debris that could collide with your space station. We've seen orbital collisions already.

This scenario, known as the Kessler Syndrome, could make it hard to operate in Earth orbit if things get bad enough. The spaceflight community should therefore start taking mitigation measures now, many exploration advocates say.

Collecting space junk

Could turn out to be a lucrative venture. Some of the materials could go to the Moon and be repurposed there in mining or building, saving money from having new material launched from Earth.

Other space junk could be returned to the Earth and sold. Some companies may want to have their satellite that failed back to study what went wrong. And still other space junk could be auctioned to bidders as space souvenirs.

Is likely SpaceX will not resolve Space Junk by going to clean the orbits, they are POLLUTING the night sky for science. This is somebody's pipe dream.

The way to "clean up" the Earth's orbital environment, first of all LAUNCH LESS JUNK. Second of all, build a dozen ships like the X-37 autonomous space plane that will spend years at a time on orbit as a robot, cleaning up old Starlink satellites.

IMG_0834 copy.jpg

What's being done to reduce and clean-up space junk?

As for cleaning up the junk? Remediation technologies have not yet been tested in space. There's been demonstrations with magnets in Japan and deployable nets in England, which took place on Earth.

In December, the European Space Agency (ESA) commissioned the very first orbital debris clean-up mission, called ClearSpace-1.

Their plan is to launch a multi-armed robot in 2025 to scoop up a chunk of old European rocket, a mission estimated to cost $130 million. The debris and the clean-up robot would self-destruct upon re-entry into Earth's atmosphere.

Meanwhile, each individual nation is managing the risk that space junk poses to hardware and to human life.

As more countries around the world build up their space capabilities, U.S. lawmakers are keen to address the growing issue of potentially harmful debris in orbit. But while policies have attempted to tackle the problem, no major strides have been made. "As more countries and companies field space capabilities, it is in everyone's interest that they act responsibly and that the safety and sustainability of space is protected", Cunningham said. "A widely-subscribed International Code of Conduct for Outer Space Activities can encourage responsible space behavior, help to reduce the risk of debris, and increase transparency of space operations".

Such an agreement does not yet exist. The first tentative attempt was under the Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and I sincerely hope that our new President Joe Biden will pronounce that the United States will work with other nations to develop an international code of conduct, so long as it does not conflict with the country's national security priorities.

References

https://www.businessinsider.com/soviet-satellite-chinese-rocket-might-crash-in-space-2020-10?utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sf-bi-ti&utm_source=facebook.com

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/space/reference/space-junk/

https://www.newsweek.com/russian-satellite-chinese-rocket-space-collision-1538954?utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1602674383n,

https://www.futura-sciences.com/sciences/actualites/debris-spatiaux-debris-spatiaux-nouvelle-technique-laser-permet-observer-plein-jour-82403/?utm_content=bufferd9747&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=futura#xtor=AL-27-1[ACTU]-82403[Debris-spatiaux-:-une-nouvelle-technique-laser-permet-de-les-observer-en-plein-jour]

https://astronomy.com/news/2019/06/what-did-the-apollo-astronauts-leave-behind?utm_source=asyfb&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=asyfb

 

https://www.space.com/spacex-starship-space-junk-cleanup

https://www.livemint.com/Technology/LZI48dIQctPzb0mMYfYUBI/To-the-moon-and-back-with-VR.html

https://www.space.com/16289-space-junk-international-response.html

https://dailyutahchronicle.com/2018/03/19/consortium-for-dark-skies-studies-reaches-new-heights/

https://www.bournemouthecho.co.uk/news/17588007.campaigners-call-light-pollution-action-star-count/